Having finished Planchette, there was still some vampire ephemera ghosting around in the attic of my head, so, happily, a short story called “Baby” will appear in Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling’s upcoming YA anthology, TEETH….I had fun writing this one.

I tend to have a fairly high creep-out threshold, at least for things that go bump in the night, or the day.  But Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House scares me every time I read it, day or night, as does the fiction of M.R. James.   I found the cruelty of the Captain in Pan’s Labyrinth grievous and disturbing to watch, though it didn’t scare me, other than by implication: yes, Virginia, there are people like that in the world, this world, your world, right now.  And some of them hold positions of considerable power. Hope they don’t notice you, going about your daily life, because you’ll certainly notice if they do, Virginia…Interesting that to “put some teeth into” something means to increase its power or efficacy. Pounds per square inch. M.R. James

Teeth do scare me, actually.

