“No, no, you silly dog, it’s ‘I before E, except after Milk Bones”…” No, not really. What it really was was a visit to the Michigan Humane Society‘s Summer Tails camp, held at the Detroit Center for Animal Care, one of my favorite places on planet Earth.

Here are two campers, Iain and Byron, and two stalwart MHS staffers.

I was there to talk about straydog, and writing about animals, and how what we write can not only express our feelings and views on how animals should be treated (with kindness, compassion, as companions), but share those views with others, people in different countries, in different times (we discussed both Black Beauty and Beautiful Joe), and together make a real and lasting difference in the lives of animals, and people, we may never see or know.

I love my job.

