My visit last week to the Caroline Kennedy Library in Dearborn Heights, MI, was great. It’s always a treat for me to meet with young writers, hear about what they’re working on, their slumps and their triumphs, and this was an especially intriguing bunch. Thanks again to Julie B. for inviting me (and for the pizza) (and the salad, too, of course).

Over the weekend, I volunteered at one of the Michigan Humane Society’s coolest annual events: the Bow Wow Brunch. An afternoon spent at a swanky hotel, dressed up (in high heels, even – so unlike me!), surrounded by animal people – what’s not to love? And all of it to help the MHS continue to serve the animals who need them (and us) so much. What a marvelous day. And you should have seen the white kitten with the raccoon tail….

Tomorrow’s the first day of a week’s worth of visits with the middle and high schools of the Troy, MI school district. I’ll be talking about (and reading from) Buddha Boy and straydog, discussing more student writing, and, and, and. Let the fun begin.

